Skip to content

Toward a Better Book Cover

March 20, 2010

I’m not a huge fan of the book cover for Simon Johnson and James Kwak’s new book, 13 Bankers: The Wall Street Takeover and the Next Financial Meltdown. So since I had some free time, I designed an alternative cover, which I think is more attractive, and conveys what I imagine the is message of the book more clearly. A couple design notes:

  • Their cover is a simple black/blue/red/white combination that is probably much cheaper to print than my design. However, I find their use of the NYSE picture to be rather confusing upon first glance.

  • They highly emphasize the terms “wall street takeover” and “next financial meltdown”. I’m assuming this is intentional. I kept with the emphasis on these phrases, but I didn’t make them as prominent. I’m not completely sure, but my gut tells me it’s not as effective a marketing tool as you would think in a bookstore.


[Click picture for larger image]

As always, let me know what you think!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 625 other followers

