I Did Not Buy an iPad


Now you know!

— — — —

I suppose I owe a little more explanation. I’m sure I would enjoy my consumer surplus quite a bit…but that isn’t enough to tip the scales toward me purchasing an iPad.

There are a lot of people out there that are asking questions like, “what is it for?” and “what does it do differently?”. Then there are complaints such that it doesn’t have a camera (which, I admit is quite baffling…feature discrimination?) or USB port, or even Flash (I hear because Apple is betting on HTML5, though I don’t know exactly what that means).

I think the iPad will be successful despite these objections…but I don’t see how it will be useful for my mobile computing uses (Photoshop, Excel, heavy internet)…as it includes one one of those features. As far as e-reading, it seems identical to the laptop I currently use…and I find it a little hard to read on a computer screen, even though I do so regularly. However, there is certainly a niche to be created for tablet computers. Remember, consumer demands evolve with business plans, and visa versa.

I think that Apple made a huge mistake not shipping with a camera, as the iPad has the potential to do augmented reality extremely well.

As noted numerous places on the internet, the battle is poised to be between open architecture, like Android, and Apple’s business plan of very tightly-closed selection. I’m a fan of open architecture.

6 thoughts on “I Did Not Buy an iPad

  1. Apple doesn’t want Flash on their iPhone/Pod/Pads for two reasons:

    1) Flash makes Apple products crash. I should say, really, Flash applications made by crappy programmers who don’t know how to program the apps appropriately for both Windows systems and OSX/iPhone OS system make Apple products crash. Well, Firefox or Safari crash… but, in reality, it’s mostly a programming problem, not something absolutely inherently problematic with Flash though there are definitely some problems Adobe has been working on fixing with their new release out very soon. Steve Jobs decided to abandon it a long time ago and he’s as thick headed as Gollum so the decision stuck.

    2) It’s very, very easy to turn Flash apps into apps playable on the iPhone. Apple wants everyone to get their apps using their iTunes store so they can regulate, mandate and play Big Brother, and continue making loads of money through both developer fees and advertisements of 100 hallzillion apps downloaded to promote the iPhone OS based products. If I can simply go to a website and download a free app through the browser, I can simply add whatever app I want instead of going through the middle man. Apple doesn’t like that. They prefer to control your life (and the product they own (not you), which is in your hands, the iPhone/Pod/Pad).

    Also, Apple screwed a lot of customers by dropping their prices down significantly after about 90 days or so post-initial release of the iPhone. I think they will release version 2 of the iPad with camera and other niceties fairly soon, which will piss off early adopters but those people will likely upgrade anyway AND since the iPad has been tested and accepted by the general public, any stragglers smart enough to wait (and maybe some who never had an interest) will get one, increasing their market share of tablets when the competition starts churning out their products–many of them superior but incapable of competing with an established, albeit brainwashed, base.

    And yes, I do definitely prefer an open development architecture. Apple fans tend to bring up this false dichotomy of open or closed. How about a foot-in-the-door development architecture? Keep the door open but keep a bouncer there just in case some nastiness tries to come in?

    People argue that a closed development architecture ensures top quality apps. Most of the apps on the iTunes store are garbage. Pure and simple garbage–and often times not even free! Open development architecture has the same problem but brings another hazard into the mix: potential fraud. There were several fake banking apps for the Android OS early on before Google had the brains to put a stop to it. Google, and Apple, can have open development architectures as long as fair warning is presented if people wish to go off track onto a unofficial app store, something not from Google. Of the official Google app store, though, they can monitor for bad apps while allowing a rating system to control the rest. You can have an open door but a bouncer to throw out all the garbage trying to touch the merchandise (private data).

    Me? I’ll wait until one of the Android OS tablets come out. There are a few that are outstanding and much more impressive in features than the iPad. They won’t succeed as well, though, because of the Apple brand and its horde of zombies.

  2. I enjoy open architecture as well. *ahem* open office proponent here!

    But I also heard some things about HTML5 possibly replacing XML? Not sure how accurate that statement is, but may make sense if flash is for whatever reason not needed in HTML5.

    BTW> I also did not decide on the Ipad for similar reasons. I think the more surprising thing is Nintendo trying to release the DSi XL right when they announce the 3DS coming out a year later, interesting marketing..

  3. The whole Flash thing will be hit or miss based on how fast popular websites transition from Flash to HTML5 due to the iPad. That’s putting a lot of faith in one’s own stride. I, personally, hope it’s a miss just because I personally can’t stand this constant big man approach but Apple has marketed itself into enough clout to move mountains.

    HTML5, by the way, Niklas, is a brand new web design protocol that would recognize video streaming. It allows for embedding of Flash-like video content without Flash. That’s a simplistic explanation but Flash would be unnecessary.

  4. HTML5 sounds like more of a cloud-based approach to traditional flash application. No more need to download adobe stuff it seems. Sounds ok to me in that extent.

  5. Indeed, the annoyance of Flash plugins going extinct is welcome. It had its time and was very welcomed but it’s time to move on. I don’t know what kind of limitations HTML5 possessed, though; some things are too good to be true.

Leave a Reply

