A Most Confusing SpamBot


Perhaps I shouldn’t waste my time reading spam comments, but I do anyway. In any case, I found this, from a bot named “M Seven”, in my filter:

A little off topic perhaps, but a plea for you to consider the ethics of buying things like designer clothes. Please try and consider, for example, the materials the product is made with, the conditions of the factories where they’re made and the ethics of retailers. Oh, and endeavour to share instead of discarding. Thanks!!!!

Pretty standard fare, and something that could even come from someone over at the local liberal arts college. What caught my eye is that included in his attempt is a link to a site that sells…cheap designer clothing….and his e-mail address was…@greenpeace.

Bizzare sort of marketing. Is designing and administering proprietary spam code (which I would assume is a SEO position) a paying enterprise? If so, why? And I don’t mean ‘why’ because it’s annoying, I mean ‘why’ because it seems like the market would be intensely competitive, and prices would quickly fall to marginal cost…

One thought on “A Most Confusing SpamBot

  1. I believe there are a lot of Indian and Chinese workers doing this kind of thing for 80 cents an hour. I had someone posting a bunch of Chinese or Taiwanese spam on my blog a few weeks ago – pretty sure it was a real person because they got past the captcha, and when I turned comments off for a few hours it stopped.

Leave a Reply

